Social Anxiety Photography

This is something I have been planning for a while; A series of photographs depicting my interpretation of Social Anxiety.

As some of you may know already I have suffered with this disorder since I was in nappies. Social interaction has always been a struggle and words can’t describe how debilitating it can be sometimes. Having overcome the majority of my anxiety, I still have days where it pulls me down and sucks me into the darkness I have strived to avoid.

This is the start of my project, a hopefully continuing self evaluation of what I go through on a daily basis. The feel of these images are different to my usual photography, giving them a film like finish and keeping them as natural and untouched as possible. Mental illness is raw, it’s emotional, it’s untamed and this is how I wanted it to be portrayed.

These images depict the loneliness, the side effects, the exhaustion.

Social anxiety photography Social anxiety photography Social anxiety photography Social anxiety photography Social anxiety photography

 

… To be continued.

2 thoughts on “Social Anxiety Photography

Leave a Reply

